What is the European Electronic Toll Collection Service (EETS)?

EETS is a European initiative based on the experience of similar projects at regional level. The main goal of the EU was to standardize the methods of collecting fees and open the market to external companies offering users competitive conditions. In this regard, both Toll Collectors and EETS Providers rely on:

  • Directive (EU) 2019/520 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 19 March 2019 and its Acts - Executive and Delegated
  • Directive 2004/52/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 29 April 2004 together with Commission Decision of 6 October 2009

The European Electronic Toll Collection Service is a tool aimed at achieving the goal of European interoperability. The concept of European interoperability should be understood as enabling users to pay tolls for toll roads in the European Union under one contract concluded with the EETS Provider and using one piece of On-Board Equipment (OBE).

Role of the EETS Provider

As part of the EETS service, the Provider takes over some of the Toll Charger's tasks in each EETS area (toll road area managed by one entity, each entity has a separate EETS area) and it collects road tolls. Therefore, users who have decided to use the services of a given EETS Provider thus fulfill the obligation to pay for a given travel and do not have to use the services of the national Toll Collector. As part of this service, the EETS Provider provides the user with an on-board equipment unit necessary for the calculation and collection of the toll. Toll settlement takes place between the OBU user and the EETS Provider and between the EETS Provider and the Head of KAS (Toll Collector). 

Toll payment control in the EETS area managed by the Head of KAS

The National Revenue Administration together with the Road Transport Inspection is responsible for controlling the payment, both in the case of e-TOLL system users and users of EETS Providers' services. The statutory consequences of non-payment of tolls are the same for both user groups.

Countries in the EETS zone

Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, Germany, Belgium, Hungary, Austria, Switzerland, France, Italy, Bulgaria, Spain, Portugal